Hi all, my name’s David

Hi all, my name’s David

I thought I’d use my first post to briefly introduce myself as one of the writers for this blog.

IMG_2385

I’m a 22-year-old dreadlocked nature loving Christian, and I graduated with the same degree as everyone else this summer. I’m now living back home with my parents in Swindon where I’ve managed to get a job on the sales team at Currys, not quite the world-changing career path I know, but it’s a job and a job that I enjoy. Maybe I’ll write a post one day about working in retail and how it relates to fighting the biocrisis!

It gives me the flexibility to look for something more career-related on my days off. When people ask: “So David, what do you want to do with your life?” I direct them to the film (and book) ‘We bought a zoo’ starring Matt Damon and Scarlett Johansson based on the true story of Benjamin Mee at Dartmoor Zoo – just without the dead wife.

I’m still working out what saying “I’m going to live on a zoo” really means. And how it ties together with my other interests in urban agriculture, sustainable buildings, social enterprise, and the circular economy. The longer title I give is “A wildlife and sustainability park that focuses on UK conservation”. I think there is a lot to admire about wildlife in the UK, and the prospect of a fully self-sustaining educational facility that’s been designed from the ground up to provide its own food, water and energy really excites me. It would be great if I could make a buck or two out of such a radical enterprise but as long as it can promote and enhance local wildlife AND the local community then fantastic.

As you may very well have picked up, I’m very idealistic and have a lot of stuff going round in my head. One day I might put my thoughts into words through the medium of this blog, unfortunately I’ve just been too busy to really commit as much stuff as Grace and James, I’ll try and aim for a post every three or four weeks on average.

In my down-time I play PC games, my favourites at the moment are SimCity and the Sims because I enjoy designing houses and eco mega-cities, I’m buying a playstation 4 in the new year. I play a few musical instruments ranging from the tuba to piano, although I’m out of practice on all of them!

Anyway, nice to meet you all, peace out, god bless, safe, TTFN

Leave a Reply

